Weekly Update 5: 6/13/2012

14 Jun

This was a busy last couple of weeks. Luckily, that  wasn’t just limited to my personal life; it also translated into my writing. There are so many things to look forward to in the next few weeks. Heck, there are some exciting things to look forward to in the next few days. It’s such an exciting time to be a writer.

Articles:

Again, the articles have been proving to be quite lucrative. I am somehow continuing my un-rejected streak. Every article I have put forward for consideration has been purchased. Over 90% of them within 24 hours. I’m super stoked! As I keep adding things to my portfolio and experience under my belt, I’m becoming more confident in my ability to produce high quality free-lance work. Soon, I look to expand my skills outside of this particular sector of the market. Soon.

Short Stories:

So I canned “Post Card from Heaven” for right now. It wasn’t really flowing; it was incredibly forced. Plus, sudden inspiration hit me. Maybe it’s from all of the zombie jokes about the unfortunate events recently, but it got me thinking about a dark comedy. It’s a dystopian view on drugs, zombies and human stupidity. It’s a first person story called “Night of the Living Brain-Dead.” And the best news? It’ll be available starting this Friday.

Poetry:

I’ve been surprisingly active with poetry lately. Of course, knowing me, I haven’t exactly stuck with traditional poetic forms…

My pride and joy in the poetry sector right now is actually a gift. I generally don’t write poetry for loved ones (my girlfriend will attest to this. Nearly a year and she’s gotten maybe two). I find that one should create from the heart, not for anyone else. If the heart says to create for someone, I will. But I don’t think that I should be so pretentious to shower my family and friends with poetry because I can. I want it to be sincere. That all being said, this Sunday is Father’s Day. My dad is quite honestly my best friend and confidant. I can (and, sometimes to his chagrin, do) tell him anything and everything. So this year I decided to write him a poem. I’ve mentioned it earlier, it’s titled “The House my Father Built.” Although it’s for my dad, I know that the sentiments expressed can be taken for dads in general. It can be found here. I’m showing my dad on Sunday.

In addition, I decided to have some fun with an eastern poetry style: Haiku. Why? I was reading the paper, and I realized that the opinion section was sponsoring a contest. So I made an entry. If it doesn’t make it, I’ll post it here on the blog as a Caustic Cookies exclusive.

Other Media:

My friend Dj ZeroWolf, has recently returned home from a trip to the Big Apple. Now that he’s home, we may begin a collaborative project. Maybe. It’s still in the formative stages, nothing may come of it. But, then again, something really awesome could.

Furthermore, I’m designing two graphic pieces by the end of this week. One is a picture for “Night of the Living Brain-Dead.” Another is an emblem for this site. That’s right! Caustic Cookies is getting it’s own design. It’s so awesome to watch this site develop a little more every day. I can’t wait to see how it develops as time marches forward.

Other:

I have recently gotten ink! And yes, I was of sober mind when I did. It’s not a visual design; I wanted something  that would remain pertinent for the rest of my life. So I decided upon the phrase “Carpe Vitam.” It’s placed on my right shoulder and designed by my brother Jason.

Hey, this list is never too full. If you have an article you need written, or are in search of a flexible freelance writer, e-mail me at peterlicari13@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

